Duke Chapel aerial over roofs

About the Centennial

On December 11, 1924, James B. Duke signed his indenture of Trust that transformed Trinity College into Duke University. The story of Duke’s first century is one of an extraordinary ascent in higher education: the remarkable transformation of a small liberal arts college in North Carolina into an internationally renowned research university and academic medical center.

Goals of the Centennial

Deepen our understanding of Duke’s history

Explore Duke’s remarkable trajectory with candid reflection on Duke’s history and the pivotal moments that led the university to today.

Inspire pride

Focus on the people – both well-known and under-recognized – who have contributed to Duke’s growth and success.

Launch Duke into its second century

Advance Duke’s Strategic Vision and seek to use our momentum to propel Duke to a second century of excellence and leadership—in Durham, in the nation, and around the world.

President Price Portrait

“We will look back at Duke’s history with clear eyes and celebrate the work that has brought us to this moment. At the same time, this celebration should sharpen our focus on the work still to come and renew our commitment to meet the needs of a changing world.”

President Vincent E. Price

Duke University Centennial Task Force Members (2020-2021)

Representatives of the Duke University Board of Trustees:

  • Lisa Borders T’79, Chair
  • Ibrahim Butt T’20 
  • Paul Farmer T’82
  • Janet Hill P’94
  • Katy Hollister T’81
  • Peter Kahn L’76
  • Rhett Mabry G’87
  • Steve Pagliuca T’77
  • Bob Penn T’74
  • Michael Rhodes E’87
  • Kelly Tang G’21
  • Laura Meyer Wellman T’73

Duke University Faculty, Staff, Students and Senior Administration Representatives:

  • Nicholas Chrapliwy
  • Noamme Elisha
  • Bruce Jentleson
  • Trina Jones
  • Dave Kennedy
  • Connor Leydecker
  • Ted Pappas
  • Lillian Pierce
  • Mike Schoenfeld
  • Alexis Williamson

Steering Committee

Jill Boy
Executive Director, Duke‘s Centennial Celebration (Chair)

Dave Kennedy
Vice President, Alumni and Development (Co-Chair)

Ed Balleisen
Vice Provost for Interdisciplinary Studies

John Brown
Vice Provost for the Arts

Carolyn Gerber
Special Assistant to the Vice President for Communications, Marketing & Public Affairs

Val Gillispie
University Archivist

Kim Hewitt
Vice President for Institutional Equity and Chief Diversity Officer

Trina Jones
Chair, Duke University Academic Council

Antwan Lofton
Vice President for Human Resources

Paul Markakis
PhD Student, Pratt School of Engineering

Todd Mesibov
Deputy Director of Athletics/Administration and Legal Affairs/Chief of Staff

Katie McKittrick
Chief of Staff for Senior Vice President and Chief Human Resources Officer, Duke University Health System

Mary Pat McMahon
Vice Provost and Vice President of Student Affairs

Vikas Patel
President, Duke University Alumni Association; Member of Board of Trustees (ex officio)

Luke Powery
Dean of Duke Chapel

Akhilesh Shivaramakrishnan
Undergraduate Student

Chris Simmons
Vice President, Government Relations

Frank Tramble
Vice President, Communications, Marketing and Public Affairs

Erika Weinthal
Professor of Environmental Policy and Public Policy

Stelfanie Williams
Vice President for Durham and Community Affairs

Project Implementation Teams

Names listed are team chairs

Lisa Worster

Greg Phillips/Blyth Morrell

Signature Events
Terry Chambliss/Jill Boy

Art Chase/Debbie Savarino

Provost’s Office
Ed Balleisen

Jamie Wylie

Learning Innovation
Blythe Tyrone

Bass Connections
Laura Howes

Duke Arts
Paul Kartcheske

Nasher Museum
Trevor Schoonmaker

Duke Gardens
Bill Le Fevre

Duke Press
Dean Smith

Duke Health
Oliver Rouch

Student Affairs
Margot Cardamone

Durham & Community Affairs
Rukmini Balu/Michelle Benham

Diversity, Equity and Inclusion
Hailey Mason

Archives and History
Lucy Waldrop

Duke Chapel/Religious Life
Amanda Hughes

Duke Employees
Piper Mitchell

Duke Government Relations
Katie Lipe

Schools & Units

School of Medicine
Andrea Martin

School of Nursing
Josh Davis

The Graduate School
Scott Behm

Fuqua School of Business
Elizabeth Hogan

Duke Law
Valerie Marino

Nicholas School of the Environment
Denise Haviland

Pratt School of Engineering
Angela Brockelsby

Sanford School of Public Policy
Kirsten Khire

Trinity College of Arts & Sciences
Kathryn Kennedy

Duke Divinity School
Katherine Smith